Header Ads

Review of It Started with Goodbye: Young Adult Fiction by Christina June

It Started with Goodbye is a young adult read that comes from the Blink imprint of Zondervan books. These books aren't Christian fiction, but they are clean reads. This is one that I enjoyed, even though it's technically a young adult book.

Review of It Started with Goodbye by Christina June



About the Book


From the book's description: Sixteen-year-old Tatum Elsea is bracing for the worst summer of her life. After being falsely accused of a crime, she’s stuck under stepmother-imposed house arrest and her BFF’s gone ghost. Tatum fills her newfound free time with community service by day and working at her covert graphic design business at night, which includes trading emails with a cute cello-playing client. If Tatum is reading his emails right, her virtual Prince Charming is funny, smart, and talented—and he seems to think the same about her. Too bad he’s spending his summer across the ocean in Ireland…not that Tatum would be allowed to go on a date anyway.

But over the course of the summer, Tatum will learn that sometimes going after what you want means breaking all the rules. And when Tatum discovers she’s not the only one in the house keeping secrets, she finds she has the chance to make amends with her family and friends. Equipped with a new perspective, and assisted by her feisty step-abuela-slash-fairy-godmother, Tatum is ready to start fresh and maybe even get her happy ending along the way. A modern play on the Cinderella story arc, Christina June’s IT STARTED WITH GOODBYE will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen, Stephanie Perkins, and Jennifer E. Smith.

My Thoughts


The book opens with Tatum and her parents in a lawyer's office, contemplating the results of her crime- that wasn't really her crime. It's a great opening and grabbed my attention right away. After many years of reading many, many, many books, I can usually tell if I'm going to like the read with the first chapter. It Started with Goodbye definitely passed the test.

The characters - Tatum in particular- are interesting and compelling. The story moves at a good pace and keeps the reader engaged. Written in first person from Tatum's point of view, the story is appealing.

I really liked this one. I give it four stars and a G rating for content. You can find the book on Zondervan here and on Amazon here. You can also read a Kindle preview below.








No comments

Thanks for stopping by. I love comments or questions, so be sure to tell me what you think.

Powered by Blogger.