Now you can Subscribe using RSS

Submit your Email

The K-9 Unit Series: An Inspirational Fiction Review and Giveaway

Leah Courtney
{this post may contain affiliate links}

I am an avid reader. I love to read. If you've been around the blog for a while, you'll know I frequently talk about books- my own and the kids.I even have a separate book review blog- Leah's Good Reads. And I have a confession. I don't just read the classics. Yes, there are some great classics I may read multiple times, and I often like to read a new to me classic book. But I also read what Charlotte Mason would probably consider "twaddle." I like a good mindless book that doesn't require much from me sometimes. But it is nice if the books I read have some sort of good message. Enter the inspirational romance genre.

Inspirational romance books have a plot with a romantic love story/relationship that unfolds Throughout the story, the characters also learn life lessons about their own relationships and their relationship with God. The books aren't "preachy," but there is some spiritual insight, encouragement, or inspiration. The stories are usually light and easy to read, requiring little concentration. I think they're perfect for a short, quick, entertaining read.

Recently I had the opportunity to read for review Books 1-3 of the Texas K-9 Unit series from Love Inspired fiction. I also have a giveaway for you to win a brand new inspirational romance for yourself, so keep reading until the end.

In the Texas K-9 Unit series, various inspirational romance authors have come together to write short, easy to read novels that all feature police officers and their dogs in the K-9 unit. The three titles I received are Tracking Justice by Shirlee McCoy, Detection Mission by Margaret Daley, and Guard Duty by Sharon Dunn. I had read books by a few of these authors previously. This set is sold together as Kindle books on Amazon here.

From the set description:

Love Inspired Suspense authors Shirlee McCoy, Margaret Daley and Sharon Dunn will get your pulse racing with tales of Texas cops and their loyal K-9 dogs tracking down a crime ring. Enjoy three action-packed Texas K-9 Unit romantic suspense novels in one box set! When a boy goes missing from his bedroom, a police detective must assure a desperate single mother that he and his trusty bloodhound will find her son. A woman with amnesia has to rely on an officer and his border collie to stay alive when she can't remember who tried to kill her. An FBI agent is called in to protect a single mother when the rookie K-9 officer witnesses a murder and becomes the killer's target.

I enjoyed these short, easily read stories. The characters are interesting. The action is fast-paced to keep you wanting to read more and find out what happens. There isn't lots of depth, so I could read pretty quickly. I don't read this type of book looking for any great insights or deep messages. But there is a spiritual focus to them that was encouraging as I read. And the romance stories are sweet and "clean" stories. If you're looking for an easy read that has a positive message, the Texas K-9 Unit series books are good picks.

You can learn more about Love Inspired books and connect with them on Facebook here.

Disclosure: I received free ebooks from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are entirely my own, and I was not compensated in any other way.


You can enter to win the newest book from Shirlee McCoy, the author of Tracking Justice from the K-9 Unit series. Her newest book is Protection Detail and was just released on March 3. You can enter the giveaway below to win a physical copy of Protection Detail.

Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.
 Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway. If you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification

Leah Courtney / Author & Editor

Leah Courtney is a homeschooling mom of four. She’s graduated two teens- one who’s a legal adult now! And she’s still homeschooling two middle schoolers. She loves all things book related, and in her- very rare- free time you can find her listening to audiobooks and coloring.


Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by. I love comments or questions, so be sure to tell me what you think.

Coprights @ 2016, Blogger Templates Designed By Templateism | Templatelib